Teaching Writing

The kids love taking a little time off during the summer.  I, however, am busy preparing for the upcoming year.  This next school year we will be spending a significant amount of time writing.  It is important that my children be able to write well.  My seven-year-old still has plenty of time to learn, but there are only a couple more years until the oldest heads off to college.

The elementary-age kids will be using Easy File-Folder Reports.

My junior high schooler will use Jump In: A Workbook for Reluctant and Eager Writers.

For high school composition, our texts will be:

Obviously, I won’t give every assignment from all four texts.  Different kids do best with different approaches, so I’ll match my students with the text most suited to their learning styles.

Likewise, with creative writing, different kids will use different materials:

Leave a Reply

